World Selection Committee

The World Selection Committee is the group that selects the winner and first alternate of the World Food Prize each year. The Committee’s members are Dana Born, Cady Coleman, Fay Donohue, Joyce Murphy, Helen Peters, and Alison Taunton-Rigby. The Selection Committee is assisted by the World Food Prize Secretariat. Nominations and all seconding and supporting documents are due by May 1 of the year for which they are being considered.

The 2022 team for the U.S. women at the upcoming World Artistic Gymnastics Championships in Liverpool, England, begins Friday (October 21) with the final competition to decide the six-woman roster and traveling alternate. The top-scoring all-around gymnast at the end of Friday’s competition will earn the spot. Japan 2020 Olympic team silver medallist Jordan Chiles and floor champion Jade Carey are competing for two of the spots, while Tokyo 2020 all-around silver medallist Shilese Jones and 2021 all-around bronze medallists Skye Blakely, Addison Fatta, and Marissa Neal also are in the mix.

Despite a series of successful limited-overs internationals — including home ODI and Asia Cup T20 victories — the national cricket side’s chastening white-ball showing at the World Cup last month has put the role of selectors under the spotlight. The BCCI’s zonal system based on five-member selection committees is often criticised for having selectors who promote the interests of players from their own zones and vote on players in the name of cross-promotion.

Ahead of the 2024 elections, there is talk that the BCCI will move away from the zonal system in favour of a panel that will have more members and less power for each member, although the job description includes the stipulation that the committee must “select captain in each format” — an indication that the remit might be expanded to include split captaincy.

The Committee of Administrators has increased the remuneration of the members of the national selectors’ committee in order to provide greater incentive for them to continue with their good work in the future. The chairman of the national selectors’ committee will now receive a total salary of INR 1.25 crore per annum, up from INR 60 lakhs earlier. The other members of the national selectors’ committee will continue to receive a salary of INR 1.2 lakh per annum, same as before.

The committee is charged with assessing the applications received from cities vying for the WDC designation. The committee vets each city’s bid based on a number of criteria, including the city’s ability to organize and finance a year-long program of design events; its capacity to mobilize and involve large sectors of the local community in the design event; and its contribution to global urban development strategies. The committee will announce its recommendation for the recipient and first alternate of this year’s award by May 31, 2024. Applicants are encouraged to submit supplementary material to strengthen their nominations. To learn more, click here.