A government is a group or organization of individuals ruling a nation, usually an nation. All nations have leaders, and some are more powerful than others. The most powerful governments are ruled by a single political party. Typically, a country has one major political party, and sometimes numerous minor parties compete for power. There are many different types of government in existence.


Monarchy One of the most prevalent forms of government in modern times is the rule of a monarch. In most instances, this means that the leader is a male, and the throne is held by an elected family. Because of their position, these heads of state are often given special favors such as wearing robes with golden crowns. The role of the monarch varies from one country to another, depending on whether it is a constitutional monarch, absolute monarch, or something in between. In general, however, the primary function of the monarch is to act as the head of state.

Republic States A republic, also referred to as a republicans, is ruled through elected governments, rather than a hereditary monarchy. Unlike a monarchy, there is not one supreme ruler, and representatives are allowed to share power among the citizens. This is a form of government structure where a representative has the power to try cases before a judge, and can be impeached and removed from office if they are guilty of criminal behavior. Unlike a common government, there is no single political party that controls the economy, and there is less attention paid to how things are done politically. In some instances, there are two parties in a republic.

Democratic Republic Although a democracy does not have a single political party that governs it, there are four distinct types of government in this country. First is a democracy that is representative. In a representative democracy, the leaders of a political party do most of the negotiating. The party that holds the majority in the legislature is then the one that governs.

Second is a republic form of government where a hereditary monarch or the elected head of a country is the ruler. In a republic, the supreme leader or government serves as the head of state and executes the laws. Third is a free-market form of government in which the government sets taxes and uses the money to provide services for its people. Finally there is a constitutional form of government, which is ruled by the constitution of a country and has limited power because it is elected by the people through a plebiscitary election.

All of these forms of government structures work on an honor system, and require respect from those above. Respect is earned, and it cannot be bought. No single person, regardless of social status, can rule over all of those who participate in the political process. The system that each of these governments works is referred to as representative government, majoritarian government or constitutional government.